UK: My First Bra, and Parental Neglect

It is only years later when I thought about this and how my mother neglected me when I needed my first bra.

Clearly, any ordinary responsible mother would have noticed. But, I had a Narcissist Mother, so I was neglected on something so basic.

I had to get my own First Bra from a mail order catalogue. It was a really boring AA one, but it did the job and I felt a bit grown up. I used my money that I earned through working with hores to get it. I had no real idea of what to get. There was no internet around. I was too embarrassed to ask my mother ti take for bra shopping, and I had now idea of bra fitting. She wasn’t a particularly approachable person and always seemed busy. I had no advice too. was supposed to figure it out for myself. Maybe she didn’t want me to grow up in case she will feel threatened or that she could not dominate me anymore. I don’t have a relationship with her right now, so I don’t know.

Looking back, this was a sign of neglect. Teachers should have spotted this too, but this was in the 70s.

Leave a Reply

