Wellbeing: DIY Coconut Milk & Rosewater Facial Wash for Dry Skin – Review

delete

After watching some YouTube videos on making a facial wash, I thought I would be confident enough to crib together some of my favourite ingredients and ‘make up my own’ favourite facial wash and let you know what I thought of it.

This would be one that I would recommend to people and those in my family. It would be a ‘family secret formula’ that I would ‘hand down’, like ‘Granny’s favourite’ (not that I am a granny, but you know what I mean)

This one really is my ‘piece de resistance’; it just goes to show you how much I love it.

I am inspired by people from Asia, who use a lot of coconut milk for their skin and haircare. In Western culture, we seem to be obsessed with harmful chemicals, which I find really strange. I was also inspired by the Persians and Phoenicians who loved rosewater too, and used it for all sorts of things. I bought my large bottle of rosewater and almond oil from a good Turkish grocer in London and it lasts a long time.

I was actually making this facial wash for a friend who buys that nasty, chemically stuff from Boots (so I had to put a stop to that!)

For me, this facial wash is not only gentle to the skin, but it makes my skin feel super amazing and makes me feel great too, particularly when used at the beginning of the day, so it has that ‘warm, wellbeing’ ‘hygge’ factor. I feel like Cleopatra using it. I am a bit of a Roman freak and I love using rosewater which the Romans also loved. Ok, Cleopatra was Eqyptian.I like my facial wash to have a bit of ‘history’ in it.

I would go so far as to say this makes a nice DIY gift too, perhaps as a ‘thank you’. Keep it simple, and add a pretty tag to it.

Ingredients (Eyeball)

Castile Soap (a natural ‘must ‘in your house)
Rosewater
Distilled Water (to top it up) (you can boil it and let it cool down)
Coconut Milk
Honey (great to reduce spots)
A few Drops of glyerin (optional)
A few drops of johoba oil
A few drops of almond oil (brilliant for dry skin)
Poppy seeds

Method:

Just mix up the ingredients and give it a good shake before using.
I keep it in the fridge before I use it. It’s so refreshing

Tip 1: If you don’t have all the ingredients, you can get away with just castile soap and honey, although it won’t have that ‘luxury feel’. It is very natural too and honey is great for the skin and does so many good things to it.

Tip 2: This is a special facial wash, so use a pretty glass bottle for it. Some small vinegar or bath salts bottles can be very attractive. You can get some pretty bottles from charity shops too.

Tip 3: If you want to tailor make it for men, swap the rosewater with drops of peppermint essential oil (keep away from eyes) and remove the poppy seeds. However, if your man loves ‘rosewater’ leave it in!

Tips 4: Always use cotton wool pads for this facial wash, it really adds a touch of luxury and gets the nasties off.

Tip5: For heavy make up, go over with a few cotton wool pads of almond oil.

Review:

I would give this 10/10. My skin feels clean and moisturised, the almond oil gives it my skin a touch of silky luxury and the light scent of the rosewater really gives it a wonderfully ‘homemade’ luxurious touch. I will never go back to shop bought facial wash ‘nasties’ again.

Leave a Reply

