UK Elections: Britain’s Crumbling

I woke up this morning to a hung parliament, between Labour and the Tories!

I was also told this morning by my flatmate that the Greens had lost a seat (and I’m a Green), so it was a lot to take in. However, I was pleased to say that the Greens did keep their’s in Brighton, so I will have ‘words’ with the flatmate. I hope that Labour will form an Alliance with the Greens, if at all possible.

Well, the whole thing came as a surprise really, a bit like the last Election. However, it was a ‘good surprise’ and an interesting one. I don’t remember any Labour / Tory Governments in my lifetime, though I could be wrong. I think it is certainly the People’s Election this time.

I was concerned that after the last election, the Tories will be sitting forever in their seats but this was not to happen. This was really refreshing to see. Getting rid of the Old Guard. I’m looking forward to see who’s gone. I think the Tories trying to get rid of the Human Rights Act didn’t help their case.

However, the whole situation is a bit messy, particularly with Brexit and the already lax Terrorism issue. I have never seen so much political upheaval in my lifetime and I dread to think what the current situation will do to our economy. But there IS so much difference between rich and poor in the UK (as I have seen myself when I went up up to Billionnaires Row in East Finchley recently (The Bishop’s Avenue), this just cannot go on.

We need stability too so this is all a bit crazy. I don’t see a real difference to my own life, but we shall see and I will report on my situation.

So lib Dems Simon Hughes isn’t in, despite all the screaming orange signs saying he’s back in #Bermondsey.

It was certainly a bit sombre in Kent this morning. Generally people are getting on with it and not talking much about it, though the postman was full of beaming smiles this morning. When I go up to London later, it will probably be completely different.

I spoke to a Tory Parish Councillor from Kent who thought that may be a chance Labour would do well a few weeks ago. He didn’t feel the Tory campaign was good enough, compared to Labour’s and said Tories hardly were seen to be campaigning in his area. He said also that ‘I wish we had a better political system’ which is what the Green Party was campaigning for.

Leave a Reply

