I am not going to colour my hair anymore – Going Silver with Pride

As I am middle aged, my brunette hair is starting to go slightly ‘salt and pepper’. On seeing this, most women because of ‘pressure’ would normally try and colour it up, but I now think, why should we be ashamed of going silver? It is normal. We should be proud that we have lived long enough to have these sparkly hairs?

Yes, I think it is great to go ‘natural’. We’re not stuffing ourselves with chemicals that could risk all sorts of cancers.So, not only am I going to shampoo my hair with toxic products from shops, I am not going to colour my hair either. I love the sense of rebellion against consumeristic society, and nasty organisations that are trying to sell us this toxic stuff.

Colouring your hair in middle age seems to be  a very old fashioned thing to me.It also shows peope have self-esteem issues. Sometimes it makes people look much older and the hair looks horribly flat, frizzy and dry.  It also feels fake. I now much rather grow old ‘gracefully’. Harsh colours look wrong on our skin as we get older. Even then, there are lot of young people who have some gray hair, so it is not necessary an ‘old age’ sign.  I want my hair to be more healthy, and I want to ‘be authentic’. I want to save loads of money too.

I am seeing  a lot of people online look fantastically stylish with silver hair now, and they look far more comfortable and confident too. They are embracing their silve. Some women are even growing it when society says ‘we should not’. Good for them.

I am really looking forward to this journey of discovery.  I am already bored of my brunette hair. Bring on the  silver hair on and all the  uber chic hair styles.

 

 

Leave a Reply

