Review: Natural Hair Shampoo/Conditioner – ‘No Poo’ or Coconut Milk method

I chose to cut out chemical shampoos and conditioners by going ‘No Poo’ or mixing Dr Bronner’s Castile  Liquid Vegetable Soap, Essential Oils and whole Coconut Milk.  A lot of shampoos these days tlook ‘healthy’ on the front of the container, but you only look at the ingredients on the back and they are often riddled with artificial nasties and you don’t need any of these to  have healthy hair.

I gave away my shop bought shampoos and conditioners (the ones that I could) since 1 January 2017.   I wanted to help the environment, avoid cancer,  to reduce  plastic clutter and waste and save the pennies, as well as to improve my dry hair. Castile soap can be used for a whole range of things too, not just hair shampoo which is a real bonus too.

It is amazing how many toxins we are using these days in our hair products. It is such a delight not to shop at Superdrug and Boots for hair shampoos any more. I am even dumping hair dye because of the toxins too.

Shop bought shampoos with all their chemicals are designed to strip your hair of its natural oils, which is the worst thing. No wonder people are shelling out on  more products to deal with dry hair. Hair companies love this.

My hair now feels a lot healthier. One of the best things is that it is less frizzy, particularly, in humid weather. It is much more manageable.Shop bought products had really wrecked my hair, even the so-called sensitive ones.

I have mostly been using Dr Bronner’s Castile Soap, with peppermint essential oil and coconut milk, and occasionally going ‘No Poo’, which is just water, scrubbing the scalp and combing, during the week with no ill effects.

I read that it is better for your scalp to have some kind of anti-bacterial product every so often which I think coconut milk and essentials oils have.

When I go ‘No Poo’ my hair is much easier to manage the next day and isn’t so heavy and oily.  When I use coconut oil, it can be a bit of a nightmare the next morning after I have slept in it, although it feels much healthier after a bit of a comb. Having fine hair can make my hair a bit lanky with coconut milk but what I may do is add more Castile Soap and use less coconut milk and see what happens.

However, I love the luxuriant feeling I have when I have just washed and dried my hair when I use the Castile/coconut formula. And a few days after, it feels healthier, though a little heavy.

I think the night before work or an event,I will use  the ‘No Poo’ method but other times, use the coconut milk. I may add a bit of olive oil to give my ‘No Poo’ hair some lustre.

Generally I am very happy with it, and I love the smell of natural peppermint in my hair, it feels really fresh and non-chemically. When I go to the hairdresser next, I am looking forward to seeing what she says about the condition of my hair. I am not colouring it anymore so it will be even healthier.

I am currently making apple cider vinegar with the ‘mother’ to condition my hair, but this will take ages though to make so my review on this won’t be for a while.

Someone suggested I try using ‘mud’, as apparently the iron age people used that. This will be interesting, particularly as Bermondsey mud is probably contaminated with all sort of nasty stuff, including car and HGV engine oils. Maybe my hair will glow-in-the-dark.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

