My First Ever Bloggers’ Event at Lush Tunbridge Wells

lush1

PHOTO: Fellow bloggers watching what Lush beauty products can  really do, besides making people feel great.

I was lucky to receive an Invite from Lush Tunbridge Wells on Saturday, 26th April 2016. They had a two hour evening event to raise awareness of their Fukushima Campaign and to learn more about their other campaigns and products.

I was regular Lush customer (visiting Lush Tunbridge Wells and the one in London Waterloo on occasions, who became interested in Lush because of its more natural products, progressive and inspiring Corporate Social Responsibility  and sustainable approach to its business. (They could certainly inspire other Tunbridge Wells businesses to do something similar). As I have said,  I am also interested in the Wellbeing factor, the products make you feel great. So Mental Health is a top factor for me. You can be beautiful, but are you really happy?  I’d like to see people with dementia use these wonderful smellies, just seeing the effect on them would be brilliant.  I can see myself using these products for the rest of my life. We all need a pamper, it is great for our confidence and self-esteem.

As this was very my first Blogger event, it was a whole new experience for me,  as I normally write about citizen journalism and do stuff on my own. As I also now do reviews, I found myself  in ‘serious mass blogger’ territory, and in this case, the Beauty Blog World. I never knew we had so many bloggers in and round Tunbridge Wells. In some ways, it was a bit worrying, as women are nowadays still very under pressure to ‘look beautiful’ all the time.

Of course, I felt out of place in this Beauty Blogger World, as being a Citizen Journalist  we don’t exactly want to draw attention to ourselves with all this heavy make up and stuff.In this case, I went as a hippy Blogger ‘who was interested in the Environment and Wellbeing rather than being focussed with all the beauty stuff. I am more into practical products.  I wore my  handprinted T shirt which I collagraphed from some marine plastic and beer can tabs, I found littering the Thames. That was as far as my ‘fashion statement’ went. I was ‘Living Art’. However, in Tunbridge Wells, it may have been a bit wild, but there we go, and I don’t really care!

As I work outdoors a lot, and doing environmental science work along the River Thames, I do get very messy  (I mean we are talking of a ‘possible risk of getting Veil’s disease’ as I work  closely with filthy water, so it is nice to come home and have a proper pamper and soak. I like really good stuff, rather than that nasty chemical junk from Superdrug and Boots.   I also get stressed,hence I like to be outside and away from everything, and anything that makes me feel great is a good thing. Rather have a quality, animal friendly, bath bomb than a hangover, I say. It was good to see young people do  something a lot more healthy and fun on a Saturday night that spending all the evening, boozing and splayed out all over the street, and wrecking their bodies. These young people clearly took care of themselves, and of the planet.

Sometimes having Mental Health issues is a good thing, we get to have a lot of fun, it is not all doom and gloom.

lush6

PHOTO: Bloggers posing for a Fukushima Awareness Campaign

delete7

Despite having social anxiety, I braved going on my own to this event. I did nearly back out because it can be quite daunting.  Normally I avoid mingly events liked the plague, but fortunately Lush staff didn’t leave you on your own a lot, and there was also lots to see and do. Most of us these days lead very stressful lives and for a few moments in our lives we get some time where we are transported somewhere else.  They also have exciting, innovative products that I have never seen anywhere else. And the art, ah the art…..oh, this just takes things to another level. And the products are of course,  fun, another Mental Health brownie point.

DID YOU KNOW?  that Lush in Tunbridge Wells raised money for a local children’s adventure playground, andfor a Tunbridge Wells Hedgehog Sanctuary?  How many other businesses really get involved with their local community? Some business have an appalling CSR record. Even on Good Friday, staff were raising money in Calverley Park, Tunbridge Wells, getting out there, meeting the locals, and taking action to improve the community.

And one more thing, DID YOU KNOW they even sell SPF 30 Sunblock? No? Well, I didn’t either so I will have go another time and stock up.

Lush are now running this excellent Fukushima campaign, and supporting survivors of the disaster. Look out for their Charity Pots which the campaign on them. Someone I knew was in the Kent Fire & Rescue when it happened, and he was sent over to Japan to help, just a few days after the event. I think it is really  important that Lush are remembering them all, and helping out with the support from Lush customers.

lush2

PHOTO: Reece, making the ‘Cupcake’ facemask mix. This had a gorgeous chocolate cookie aroma, and some bloggers were tempted to eat it.(Note: The products are safe but if people accidently eat too much, they’d best go the doctor! This chocolate mix had a bit of mud in, though you would completely forget about that because of the enticing ‘just baked’ aroma. 

I was pleased to see Blogger Helen from the http://www.livingwithwarmth.com having a go at making the butterball bomb (yes, the bomb smelt like fresh butter freshly made from the farm).

Thanks to the helpful staff at Lush Tunbridge Wells for the lovely event, with the healthy snacks and non alcoholic drinks too, a bonus.  I had a great time making stuff and learning what Lush does.

 

UP NEXT!

So now I need to test these products out, and will report back to you later. I have also been set  to do ‘some homework’, that is, to spent a week just using Cruelty Free Beauty Products. I have also been meaning to write a Review of a newly launched Penhaligan perfume, and I can’t wait for this.

If you attended the event, let me know what you thought.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

